Skip to content

23 Days, 18 States, and a Camera

October 30, 2010

It has been about two months since our big adventure wrapped up.  We haven’t shared much in the way of pictures, so here is one from each state that we visited.

New Jersey and you Perfect Together

I didn't take many pictures in PA

I discovered my inner narcissist in Ohio

We had a lovely breakfast at The Ambrosia Bella Cafe Angola in IN

Morris Il. was a fun town to find by taking an unplanned turn off the highway

The Mississippi River

Iowa Corn

South Dakota was really tough. We took so many cool pictures. I like this one.

As we drove towards the Devils Tower Apryl was looking down at a map as she asked "Where is this thing?" I said, "There it is." To which Apryl replied "Holy _______'n __________!"

I would like to live in the Pink Coral Sand Dunes of Utah

I can't believe there are no railings around places like the Grand Canyon. Why didn't nature account for tourists that have problems with heights like myself?

We were in Vegas for a total of fifteen hours, so a car shot seemed appropriate.

California is really like three states, so here are three pictures.

Southern CA outside of Palm Springs

Central CA winery

San Francisco Street Car - I think the woman to our left was a spy and was following us.

Our faithful Prius and a snow-covered mountain peak in Oregon. I wasn't supposed to pump my gas... I didn't know.

We went to a wedding in Washington

Seattle was where we abandoned our little Prius that took us many thousands of miles...

... so that we could squeeze into a sleeper car on Amtrak. This was the view up to my bunk. There really was that little room.

Glacier Park Montana looked nice from the train.

This was taken somewhere in North Dakota

Minnesota - Known as the "Land of 10,000 Lakes", the state's name comes from a Dakota word for "sky-tinted water".

If you should ever have the chance to visit the Wisconsin Torture Museum... I'm kidding. This was from the train. This was the beginning of our descent into insanity. This train trip was tooooooo long.

In Chicago I played "Untouchables" when we got off the train for a few hours.

"Get out of my way. I need to get off this train." This was somewhere near Albany. We were just about home.

Lastly, one extra photo.  This was a picture from the beat Museum in San Francisco.  Apparently Kerouac took a hitchhiking trip that was eerily similar to our route.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    October 30, 2010 2:41 pm

    some very cool pics. and that camera you have in the shot of Albany, thats COOL. is that a konica?

    • October 30, 2010 3:52 pm

      Thanks! It is a Bell and Howell Focus-matic. I think it’s from the late 60’s. Takes cool pics too.
      The pics of Glacier Park and The Mississippi were taken with it.

Leave a Reply

