Skip to content

A Lot Like Mars

August 13, 2010

image

We are currently driving through the Mojave desert. It is 106 degrees. The Prius is holding up well and Smashing Pumpkins is playing.

Out of the blue, Apryl says “the Mojave looks a lot like Mars.” To which I reply, “that is because, and I’m fairly sure of this, many Hollywood films have used these mountains to act as a Mars location. ”

Damn you Hollywood for fooling me with your Mars stand-ins! Is everything that you do fake?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 9:29 pm

    OMG! You make me laugh!!!

    • August 17, 2010 9:41 pm

      Well, thank you! That is what I hope for when I put index finger to keyboard.

  2. August 22, 2010 11:23 am

    Great pictures of your trip so far! I urge ye to use the above landscape to reenact Leonard Nimoy’s Bilbo Baggins video.
    Good luck the rest of your adventures (apparently through space!) !

    • August 26, 2010 4:04 pm

      Thanks Róisín! It has been an adventure. Some of those places are amazingly alien. I was at a lack for a Spock figure. I’ll need more pre-production time if I ever do this again. Ill be home in a few hours and plan on catching up on everyone’s blogs, writing, etc. I’ve been fairly dssconnected for the better part of a month. Weird how time flies when you’re having fun.

  3. August 29, 2010 10:19 am

    Being inaccessible is the best feeling ever – So often communication is immediate nowadays, so it’s great to get a break from that! In fact, apart from WordPress and the odd tweet, I strive for that.
    In the same way that you have conquered space travel, I feel as though I have conquered time travel, through time spent in certain parts of my country! One place I’ve yet to visit is Connemara – I’d really love to see the walls there. As strange as that sounds. Nothing like a well-built stone wall 😀
    As for the U.S., I love travelling vicariously through people’s logs on their blogs. Blog logs.

  4. August 31, 2010 7:40 pm

    It is a good feeling to cut yourself off sometimes.

    Oddly, I have been to Connemara…. and I totally agree about a “well-built stone wall.” We don’t have enough of them in America. To find one out in a field in Ireland or Scotland was really fun when I was there. You can’t help but climb it and walk along it. It evokes a child-like sense of discovery.

    Keep an eye out for more pics from our trip. We took (no joke) thousands of them. We just need to sift through and get them up here now.

  5. September 1, 2010 12:49 pm

    Although, I’m a short drive from the city, I’m pretty much surrounded by stone walls and boreens, however the stone walling in Connemara is of a different style, so I’d love to be able to have a look at it. I completely agree with the discovery comment – I love that sense of exploration and “getting back to basics” in the sense of being happy to just wander or look at the small details. There are so many things I absolutely love and adore about Ireland, especially the area in which I live in here in Cork- To me, it’s absolutely perfect. And then, on the other hand, so many things that irk me (eg: Lack of career opportunities (especially with the economy nowadays), lack of liberalism). To permanently emigrate or not to permanently emigrate, that is the question!

    Anyway, I’ll definitely keep a look out for more pictures – Looking forward to them 😀

Leave a comment